Amy Acker Fan

Your online resource since 2007

‘In This Home on Ice’ Press Release

The press release for the pilot episode of Happy Town, titled ‘In This Home on Ice’ has been released by ABC, which will be premiering on Wednesday, April 28, 2010 (at 10:01-11:00 p.m., ET.) Details are under the cut as it contains minor spoilers.


Faced with the Disturbing New Crime, Memories of the Infamous “Magic Man” Return, as Well as Bizarre Secrets about Haplin’s Local Residents

The residents of the sun-splashed town of Haplin, Minnesota — also known as “Happy Town” — have enjoyed an uneasy peace for the past five years — but that is about to change. Still haunted by a number of unsolved kidnappings, Haplin now faces a disturbing new crime that brings all of its unresolved fears to the surface. Has the elusive “Magic Man” – who many believe is responsible for the bizarre abductions — returned to claim yet another innocent victim? As Haplin’s mysteries are revealed, many of its prominent citizens’ motives come under scrutiny as their own secrets and personalities are peeled back one layer at a time, on the premiere of “Happy Town,” WEDNESDAY, APRIL 28 (10:01-11:00 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

In the premiere episode, “In This Home on Ice,” Henley Boone has decided to take up residence in seemingly idyllic Haplin, just as a shocking murder occurs at the local pond. This horrific crime rekindles Happy Town’s dark mysteries, including the whispers about an unknown, evil force that has come to be known as the “Magic Man,” who may be responsible for the past disappearances of Haplin residents. Tommy Conroy, a small town deputy and son of the long-time popular sheriff, must help solve the crime while easing the town’s growing fears. This is made more difficult when it becomes obvious that the residents are hiding secrets, and that includes its newest resident, Henley.

The Haplin founding family, represented by the mysterious matriarch Peggy Haplin and her quick-tempered son, John, run the local bread factory, which is the town’s largest employer. The powerful family tries to wield control even while dealing with the fact that John’s daughter was one of the Magic Man’s many victims. The ever-dapper Merritt Grieves, who runs a charming but perhaps irrelevant film memorabilia shop, seems strangely sinister. The lively widows residing at the Meadows Boarding House with Merritt become all aflutter whenever he is in their presence. Haplin’s other colorful characters include Tommy Conroy’s boyhood friend, Big Dave Duncan, as well as the nefarious Stiviletto brothers.

Many in this small Midwestern town have skeletons in their closets, and some dark truths are being revealed about some familiar faces. There are signs both obvious and hidden that something strange is going on, as exemplified by a recurring bit of curious graffiti: a halo with a question mark under it. They say every town has its secrets, but that doesn’t even begin to describe Happy Town.

“Happy Town” stars Geoff Stults as Tommy Conroy, Sam Neill as Merritt Grieves, Lauren German as Henley Boone, Steven Weber as John Haplin, Amy Acker as Rachel Conroy, Sarah Gadon as Georgia Bravin, Robert Wisdom as Roger Hobbs, Jay Paulson as Eli “Root Beer” Rogers and Ben Schnetzer as Andrew Haplin.

Guest starring in “In This Home On Ice” are M.C. Gainey as Sheriff Griffin Conroy, Abraham Benrubi as Big Dave Duncan, Linda Kash as Miranda, Lynne Griffin as Dot Meadows, Natalie Brown, Carol Haplin, Joanna Douglas as Shell Jenkins, Wendy Lyon as Donna Friddle, Daniel Petronijevic as Ronald Stiviletto, Maxwell McCabe-Lokos as Lincoln Stiviletto, Steve Arbuckle as Baby Boy Stiviletto, Matt Hopkins as Womper Stiviletto, Marcia Bennett as Rose Perkins, Diane Gordon as Esther Klapman, Anna Ferguson as Irene Vaughn, Deborah Grover as Joanie Jenkins, Greg Bryk as Dr. Pete, Sophia Ewaniuk as Emma Conroy, Boyd Banks as Jerry Friddle, Kedar as Kelvin Tolliver, Brittany Kay as Lani, Luke Aquilina as Eric, Brad Borbridge as Perry Steckler and Cassidi Hoag as Jordan Kirby.

“In This Home on Ice” was written by Josh Appelbaum, Andre Nemec and Scott Rosenberg and directed by Gary Fleder.

Josh Appelbaum, Andre Nemec and Scott Rosenberg are executive producers. “Happy Town” is produced by ABC Studios.

Source: ABC